Pineapple Curry Fried Rice

Recently, I’ve been challenging myself with new recipes that requires more skills and effort. The more I practice, the more “I can”, the more I enjoy it and the more eagerness I feel to produce recipes. Every time I cook, I learn. Whether it is baking or cooking, I think both are a wonderful creation of an art masterpiece. Trying out new cuisines with ingredients that I don’t use that often are fun! The excitement is seeing the results which can sometimes go miserably wrong, but that is just another opportunity for me to try again.

Ever since I opened Alchemic Feed, I’m more conscious of the measurements of my ingredients as well. How many tablespoons/teaspoons of herbs did I just add? How many cups of sauces? In the end, I can always modify the ingredients and methods until I’m satisfied in order to post the best content that I can for you guys!

IMG_2519

Pineapple fried rice is a very popular dish in Thailand and most of the time, the pineapple itself is used as the “plate” for the rice. Remember, looks can be deceiving. Don’t forget to make the final product pretty! You can also add any kinds of seafood in the fried rice such as prawns, calamari etc. However, I kept this one vegetarian. Here it goes.


 

Pineapple Fried Rice 

Serves: 4 – 6 people

Get yourself some…

2 Pineapples (chopped in halves lengthwise)
1 red capsicum (chopped)
1 bowl of mixed frozen veggies (corn, carrots & peas)
1/2 brown onion
4 seafood sticks (chopped into squares)
3 eggs (whipped)
2 cloves of garlic
2 tablespoons of curry powder (adjust according to your liking)
2 tablespoons of soy sauce
1 teaspoon white pepper
2 cups of overnight cooked rice
slightly salted water

Method

1. Cut your pineapples into halves. Use a small knife and cut a rectangle around the edge. Cut into three stripes (lengthwise) and scoop out the flesh. Discard the middle (the core of the pineapple).

IMG_2468

2. Use salt water to soak the pineapple cubes for 30 mins to avoid acidic burn of your tongue. After 30 mins, rinse under tap water.

3. Meanwhile, chop onion, garlic, capsicum and seafood stick. Use hot water to soak the frozen veggies.

4. After the pineapples are done, pat dry with paper towel. Heat oil in a wok and add onion. Stir fry it until it slightly turns colour.

5. Drain your frozen veggies and add it in with the onion. Add red capsicum, seafood sticks and garlic. Set it aside.

IMG_2505

6. Add a little oil and fry the eggs. When the eggs are 50% done, add rice and stir fry it until the rice seperates.

7. Add curry powder and mix. Add cooked veggies, soy sauce and white pepper. Mix until it is distributed evenly. Taste. Add more curry powder/white pepper/ salt if needed.

8. Combine the pineapples and mix.

IMG_2561

DONE! SERVE WITH THE PINEAPPLE SHELL. 

All photo credits: Eyes of Ed

Did you like it? Comment on Alchemic Feed’s Facebook! www.facebook.com/alchemicfeed

Leave a Reply

