Roast Chicken with bacon, apple, sage, onion

One of the many things I love cooking about is sharing the food. I love watching and knowing that people enjoys my food. I love the criticisms, because that’s how I can grow and improve with my cooking. Every time I prepare a dish for my food blog, all my housemates tend to help out as well. From stirring ingredients to crushing breadcrumbs with a rolling pin (because our food processor broke, haha) to just watching me cook!

IMG_3613
I used to be a person that doesn’t like asking for help as well because I’d like to know that “I can do it”. However, I’ve learnt over time that IT IS OK to ask for help when you really need it! I’ve also learnt that people like to feel that they are useful. I’m just feeling so much gratitude for all the things that I have right now! I’m taking everything as a lesson to build a better me in the future. I hope you all are as well. xx

IMG_3560

The original recipe for this roast chicken is from the monthly Coles food magazine (available online for those tech savvy people). I’m a big fan of these free but packed with amazing recipes food magazines! I have ones from 2012 to 2014 just sitting on my kitchen bench. They can be pretty handy when you run out of breakfast/lunch/dinner ideas.


 

Roast chicken with apple, bacon, sage, onion stuffing

Estimated cost: $15        Serves: 4     Cooking Time: 2 hours

Get yourself some…

1 large chicken (Around 2 kg)
3 rashers of bacon (chopped)
1 medium size Granny Smith green apple (diced)
1 onion (diced)
1 celery stick (diced)
2 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)
3 eggs
1 French Stick (cut into cubes)
80g of butter
1 tbsp of sage
1 3/4 cups of chicken stock
sweet potato fries to serve

NEXT…

1. Pre-heat oven to 200°C, fan forced.
2. Fry bacon over medium high heat until it becomes crispy.
Add butter (leaving some for the chicken), apple, onion, celery, garlic and sage.
Cook until the vegetables are soft. Let it sit aside and cool.

IMG_3596

3. Toast bread cubes in the oven until slightly turns golden (around 5 mins).
4. Process the bread into a food processor for fine breadcrumbs.

IMG_3599

 5. Transfer the bacon & vegetables into the breadcrumbs and mix til combined.

IMG_3636

6. Whisk chicken stock and eggs in a seperate bowl and fold into the mixture. Season with salt and pepper.

IMG_3638

7. Wash chicken under tap water and towel dry.
8. Fill the main cavity of the chicken with stuffing but not too packed.
9. Carefully open up the skin with your fingers and loosen up the skin so you can stuff butter underneath.
10. Season the bird with some extra butter on top with salt and pepper.

IMG_3667

11. Tie the legs together with a kitchen string and in the oven it goes!
12. For the remaining stuffing, put it in a sepearte baking dish (I used a muffin tin) and wrap it with foil.
13. After the chicken has been in the oven for 20 mins, place the stuffing dish in the oven as well.

IMG_3685

14. Roast the chicken and stuffing for another 50 mins or until the thickest part of the chicken thigh reach up to 75°C.
15. Remove the chicken and let it rest for another 10 mins.
16. Meanwhile, check the stuffing dish, unwrap the foil and let it bake til it is crispy on top.

IMG_3710

 17. Carve the chicken alongside with some stuffing.

Enjoy and serve with some roast vegetables!

Photo credits: Eyes of Ed

Did you like this recipe? Like Alchemic Feed on Facebook for more!
www.facebook.com/alchemicfeed 

Leave a Reply

